Online Reference Sources
Reference sources are good places to begin research on a topic. Articles and entries in these publications often are written by scholars in the field and provide basic facts about a topic, as well as definitions of related terms.
Articles in reference sources can also lead to additional sources on a topic through bibliographies and other lists of recommended readings.
British Literature Web Resources
- The ORB: Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies: The Topical Index for the ORB Encyclopedia may be especially helpful.
- The Online Books Page : Provides links to over 35,000 full-text books and journals.
- Internet Shakespeare Editions: A search engine for Shakespeare's plays and poems as well as information about his life and times, critical studies and performance history.
- EuroDocs: One of the best places to start for all time periods of European history. Extensive collection of primary sources and links to other sites. Browse by broad era (prehistory/ancient, medieval/renaissance, modern) or by country.
- The Camelot Project: From the University of Rochester, this is a wide-ranging database of texts, images, and information.
- Chaucer Metapage: Hosted by the University of North Carolina, this is a good gateway to Chaucer, his work, and the 14th century context.
- Luminarium: An outstanding site, it covers Medieval, Renaissance, 17th Century, and the Restoration. In addition to the author links in each section, be sure to look at the resources gathered under "Essays and Articles" and "Additional Sources."
- Eighteenth-Century Resources: Don't let the plain Web design fool you; Jack Lynch of Rutgers has compiled the best online gateway to the 18th century.
- Eighteenth-Century Studies: From Carnegie Mellon.
- The Literary Gothic: A gateway to Web resources on the gothic literary tradition from the 18th century to the present, organized by Author and Title.
- Literary Resources: Romantic: Links from Jack Lynch at Rutgers.
- Victorian Web: An outstanding gateway for the literature, fine arts, political/social history, philosophy, religion, and science of the 19th century.
- Literary Resources: Twentieth Century British, Irish, and Commonwealth: Links by author.
- Contemporary Postcolonial & Postimperial Literature in English: There are pockets of interesting material here.
- Introduction to Modern Literary Theory: Succinct overview of the various theoretical appraoches that dominated literary criticism in the 20th and early 21st centuries.
Locating Articles - General and Multi-Disciplinary Databases
These databases include the full text of articles in a broad array of scholarly and popular journals. Some also include newspapers and general interest publications.
WorldCat - Find Books/Media and Request Material via Interlibrary Loan
Search for books, journal titles, dissertations, and media in other libraries, and request material via Interlibrary Loan.
Once you have found the item you are looking for:
Click on the ILL icon in the upper left corner or select the "Borrow this item from another library" link to place an ILL request.
Click on the image for additional research assistance.
If you wish to contact a librarian at Long Library:
Books in Long Library
Search here for books and media @ Long Library
American Literature Web Resources
The following links can assist in your research and lead you to some primary sources. See the Primary Source page for additional links.
- 19th Century American Literary Figures & Literary Texts Online: From Washington State University, this is a good gateway site for 19th century American literature and its historical/cultural context. Note the topic categories along the left margin, especially "Authors & Texts."
- American Authors on the Web: Also from WSU, this is a good gateway to sites concerned with individual writers. Authors are listed by time period, so use the date ranges at the top to navigate.
- Literary Resources: American: from Jack Lynch at Rutgers, this is a handy gateway site, though you must scroll for the subject categories.
- Perspectives in American Literature: A Research and Reference Guide: More old-fashioned bibliography than online gateway, but the site is well-organized and comprehensive. Don't overlook the "Outside Links" toward the top of every author and topic page.
- Voices from the Gaps: Women Writers and Artists of Color: from the University of Minnesota, the most effective approach is through the "Artists Pages" where you can search by name or topical keyword.