Chicago Notes-Bibliography Quick Style Guide: Books and eBooks

• The author/editor’s name should be cited at is appears on the title page
• In the bibliography entry, the first author/ editor’s name is inverted
• Books with an editor instead of an author should have “ed.” placed after the editor’s name 

Format:

Footnote:

1. Firstname Lastname, Title (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication), page number.

Bibliography:

Lastname, Firstname. Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication.

Example:

Footnote:

1. Erik Larson, Dead Wake (New York: Crown Publishers, 2015), 145.

Bibliography:

Larson, Erik. Dead Wake. New York: Crown Publishers, 2015.

• The names of the authors are listed in the same order as on the title page.
• For works with 2-3 authors, include the names of each author. If the book has 4 or more authors, provide the first author’s name followed by “et al.” 

Format:

Footnote:

1. Firstname Lastname and Firstname Lastname, Title, (Publisher location: Publisher, publication date), page number.

Bibliography:

Lastname, Firstname, and Firstname Lastname. Title. Publisher location: Publisher, publication date.

Example:

Footnote:

5. Richard W. Kauper and Elspeth Kennedy, A Knight’s Own Book of Chivalry (Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2005), 50- 56.

Bibliography:

Kauper, Richard W. and Elspeth Kennedy. A Knight’s Own Book of Chivalry. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2005. 

• The author of the chapter you are citing is listed first, followed by the title of the chapter in quotation marks, followed by “in” and then the name of the editor(s).
• Include the page numbers for the chapter in your bibliography entry

Format:

Footnote:

1. Firstname Lastname, "Title of chapter," in Title of Book, ed. Firstname Lastname (Publisher location: Publisher, publication date), page.

Bibliography:

Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Chapter." In Title of Book, edited by Firstname Lastname, page range. Publisher location: Publisher, publication date.

Example:

Footnote:

1. Amanda Clay Powers and Elaine Westbrooks, "Making the Leap," in A Starter's Guide for Academic Library Leaders, ed. Amanda Clay Powers, Martin Garnar, and Dustin Fife (Chicago: ALA Editions, 2019), 2.

Bibliography:

Powers, Amand Clay, and Elaine Westbrooks. "Making the Leap." In A Starter's Guide for Academic Library Leaders, edited by Amanda Clay Powers, Martin Garnar, and Dustin Fife, 1-2. Chicago: ALA Editions, 2019.

• Include the format of the eBook (Kindle, PDF, Nook, etc)
• Because page numbers of eBooks may differ from page numbers in print copies of the same book, you may cite a chapter or paragraph number.
• If the eBook is consulted online, provide the URL or DOI at the end of the citation.

Format:

Footnote:

1. Firstname Lastname, Title (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication), Format/URL/DOI.

Bibliography:

Lastname, Firstname. Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication. Format/URL/DOI.

Example:

Footnote:

1. Adam Begley, Updike, New York: Harper, 2014, Kindle.

Bibliography:

Begley, Adam. Updike. New York: Harper, 2014. Kindle.