Chicago Notes-Bibliography Quick Style Guide: Journals and Other Periodicals

• Be sure to include volume and issue numbers. The volume number comes directly after the journal title with no separating punctuation. The issue number follows after a comma.
• The page number(s) follows the publication date, after a colon

Format:

Footnote:

1. Firstname Lastname, "Title of Article," Title of Journal volume number, issue number (publication date): page number.

Bibliography:

Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume number, issue number (publication date): page range.

Example:

1. Helen Smith, "Women's Education," Fake Journal 3, no. 5 (2019): 15.

Smith, Helen. "Women's Education." Fake Journal 3, no. 5 (2019): 10-26.

• Provide a DOI or URL for the article (DOI is preferred).
• Access dates are not required for formally published sources, although your instructor may request them. Access dates should be included, however, if there is no publication date or revision date.
• Database names are not required if you are providing a URL or DOI. If there is no URL or DOI, or these links will not make the article accessible to a reader, provide the Database name in place of the URL.

Format:

Footnote:

1. Firstname Lastname, "Title of Article," Title of Journal volume number, issue number (publication date): page, URl/DOI.

Bibliography:

Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume number, issue number (publication date): page range. URL/DOI. 

Example:

1. Helen Smith, "Women's Education," Fake Journal 3, no. 5 (2019): 15, www.fakeURL.com/Womens_Education

Smith, Helen. "Women's Education." Fake Journal 3, no. 5 (2019): 10-26. www.fakeURL.com/Womens_Education

• The names of the authors are listed in the same order as on the title page.
• For articles with 2-3 authors, include the names of each author. If the article has 4 or more authors, provide the first author’s name followed by “et al.” 
• In the bibliography, only invert the name of the first author.

Format:

Footnote:

1. Firstname Lastname, Firstname Lastname, and Firstname Lastname, "Title of Article," Title of Journal volume number, issue number (publication date): page, URl/DOI.

Bibliography:

Lastname, Firstname, Firstname Lastname, and Firstname Lastname. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume number, issue number (publication date): page range. URL/DOI.

Example:

1. Helen Smith et al., "Smith Hall," Fake Journal 2, no. 19 (2018): 6, www.fakeURL.com/Smith_Hall.

Smith, Helen, et al. "Smith Hall." Fake Journal 2, no. 19 (2018): 5-18. www.fakeURL.com/Smith_Hall.

• Citing a magazine article is similar to citing a journal article with a few exceptions.
• Publication date is not enclosed in parenthesis.
• A volume number and issue  number, even if present in the magazine, is not required as publication date is sufficient to locate the article.
• Page numbers are not required in the bibliographic entry, but may be included in the footnote.
• When viewing a magazine article online, include a URL at the end of the citation.

Format:

Footnote:

1. Firstname Lastname, "Title of article," Title of Magazine, Publication date, page number, URL.

Bibliography:

Lastname, Firstname. "Title of article." Title of Magazine, Publication date. URL.

Example:

1. Henry Wells, "A Poem for My Stagecoach," Sycamore, May 4 1968, www.fakeURL.com/Poem_My_Stagecoach

Wells, Henry. "A Poem for My Stagecoach." Sycamore, May 4 1968. www.fakeURL.com/Poem_My_Stagecoach

• The citation for a newspaper article is similar to a magazine article.
• Be sure to include the full publication date (formatted as Month Date Year), as this is often crucial to locating the article.
• If the newspaper is not national, or not well-known, include the location of the newspaper in parenthesis after the title of the newspaper. You do not need to italicize the location.
• If viewing an article online, include a URL. 

Format:

Foontote:

1. Firstname Lastname, "Title of Article," Title of Newspaper (city, state), publication date, URL.

Bibliography:
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper (city, state), publication date. URL.

Example:

1. Henry Wells, "Why I Chose Aurora," Onyx (Aurora, NY), May 4 1868, www.fakeURL.com/Aurora

Wells, Henry. "Why I Chose Aurora." Onyx (Aurora, NY), May 4 1868. www.fakeURL.com/Aurora