Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Sources
Reference sources are good places to begin research on a topic. Articles and entries in these publications often are written by scholars in the field and provide basic facts about a topic, as well as definitions of related terms.
Articles in reference sources can also lead to additional sources on a topic through bibliographies and other lists of recommended readings.
General Reference Sources
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Search across numerous digital reference works.
Books in Long Library
Search for books in Long Library here.
If the book that you need is not available, please contact library staff at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Locating Articles - Anthropology and Social Science Databases
Search here for a specific journal title or to see a list of pre-vet and biology journals (print and electronic) held by the library. You may also browse journals by subject through this link.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Over 19,000 periodical titles as well as thousands of dissertations, newspapers, working papers, case studies, market and industry reports,and videos.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Use the advance search option to limit your search.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Full text of review articles in biology, chemistry, physics, and earth sciences, as well as some social sciences.
Gale General OneFile
1980 - Present. Articles from magazines, journals in business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Many full-text.
United States Department of Agriculture National Agricultural Library
A database of books and articles on agricultural science provided by the United States Department of Agriculture
WorldCat - Find Books/Media and Request Material via Interlibrary Loan
Search for books, journal titles, dissertations, and media in other libraries, and request material via Interlibrary Loan.
Once you have found the item you are looking for:
Click on the ILL icon in the upper left corner or select the "Borrow this item from another library" link to place an ILL request.
Click on the image for additional research assistance.
If you wish to contact a librarian at Long Library:
eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The eBook Collection provides access to more than 118,000 full-text scholarly, reference, and professional eBooks.