LibGuides: Government Information: Gov't Info. by Subject

Subjects

Below is a list of topics found on this page. If you don't see what you need begin your search at USA.gov

Census
Quick and easy access to facts about people, business and geography.
Census Data
Source for population, housing, economic and geographic information.
U.S. Census 2010
Complete results from the most recent Census.

FOIA.gov
Gives you access to information from the federal government. It is often described as the law that keeps citizens in the know about their government.
The Black Vault
A massive research center archiving what the U.S. government is trying to hide... from YOU.
Government Attic
Provides electronic copies of thousands of interesting Federal Government documents obtained under the Freedom of Information Act.

National Archives and Records Administration
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government.

Fair Use Checklist
Widely used for many years to help educators, librarians, lawyers, and many other users of copyrighted works determine whether their activities are within the limits of fair use under U.S. copyright law.
U.S. Copyright Office
Providing expert and impartial leadership and advice on copyright law and policy to Congress, federal agencies, the courts, and the general public.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
Search for patents and trademarks, check on the status of applications, how to apply.

ED.gov
Official site of the Department of Education
Institute of Education Sciences
IES is the research arm of the Department of Education, conducting education research, evaluation and assessment.
National Center for Education Statistics
Access publications, data and other information about all levels of education.
State Education Agencies
Listing of state education agencies' websites.
Federal Student Aid
Information about school financial aid.

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 1,243,000 records and links to more than 224,000 full-text documents, journal articles, and reports from the U.S. Department of Education database. ERIC can be searched with keywords or by using a controlled vocabulary. Coverage: 1966 to present.

To formulate a search using controlled vocabulary, use the Thesaurus of Eric Descriptors (online or the print version located at the reference desk) to search for appropriate ERIC terms. The thesaurus presents related terms in hierarchical or alphabetical displays.

Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 55 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 13 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
Science Tracer
The Library of Congress SCIENCE TRACER BULLET SERIES contains research guides that help you locate information on science and technology subjects. With brief introductions to the topics, lists of resources and strategies for finding more, they help you to stay "on target."
Office of Scientific and Technical Information
OSTI makes R&D findings available and useful to Department of Energy (DOE) researchers and the public.

Federal Trade Commission
The FTC's Bureau of Consumer Protection works for the consumer to prevent fraud, deception, and unfair business practices in the marketplace.
Consumer Products Safety Commission
CPSC is charged with protecting the public from unreasonable risks of injury or death associated with the use of the thousands of consumer products under the agency's jurisdiction.
Recalls
Alerts the American people to unsafe, hazardous or defective products.
Disaster Assistance
Access to disaster help and resources.
Federal Reserve
Information on credit cards, identity theft, mortgages and personal finance.

If you wish to contact a librarian at Long Library:

library@wells.edu

315-364-3351

Environmental Protection Agency
Information on the science and technology and the laws and regulations that protect human health and the environment.
Department of Energy
Information on the science and technology and the laws and regulations that govern the Dept. of Energy. Also covers new innovations and research.
United States Department of Agriculture
Provides information on food, agriculture, natural resources, rural development, nutrition, and related issues based on sound public policy, the best available science, and efficient management.
United States Geological Society
Provides impartial information on the health of our ecosystems and environment, the natural hazards that threaten us, the natural resources we rely on, the impacts of climate and land-use change, and the core science systems that help us provide timely, relevant, and useable information.
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Information on daily weather forecasts, severe storm warnings and climate monitoring to fisheries management, coastal restoration and supporting marine commerce.

Federal Trade Commission
Reliable source of information on a variety of health topics.
National Institute of Health
The nation's official medical research agency.
Affordable Healthcare Act
Learn what the AHA means to you and learn how to obtain, compare and manage healthcare needs.
Daily Meds
This Web site provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
Center for Disease Control
Wealth of information on healthy living, diseases, data and statistics, traveler health and much more.
National Cancer Institute
Comprehensive cancer information. The latest research and discovery, trials, and much more.
Health.gov
Improve health and learn how to do it through this site.
Clinical Trials
A registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.

Department of Homeland Security
The DHS website offers access to information about counterterrorism, border security, emergency preparedness, immigration and cybersecurity.
Bureau of Counterterrorism
Coordinates and supports the development and implementation of all U.S. Government policies and programs aimed at countering terrorism overseas.
Combating Terrorism Technical Support Office
Working closely with federal, state and local governments, law enforcement organizations, and national first responders, CTTSO offers technical expertise in developing front-line resources for the combating terrorism community.
Country Reports on Terrorism
Reports on where terrorist acts have occurred, state sponsorship of terrorism and assessments of terrorist groups.
Transportation Security Administration
Responsible for protecting the nation's transportation systems.