Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Sources
Reference sources are good places to begin research on a topic. Articles and entries in these publications often are written by scholars in the field and provide basic facts about a topic, as well as definitions of related terms.
Articles in reference sources can also lead to additional sources on a topic through bibliographies and other lists of recommended readings.
An Introduction to Film Studies by
Call Number: 791.672 I61n
Publication Date: 2003-07-23
Film and Video Art by
Call Number: 778.59 qF48
Publication Date: 2008-09-01
Locating Articles - Film and Media Studies
Search here for a specific journal title or to see a list of film and media journals (print and electronic) held by the library. You may also browse journals by subject through this link.
These databases include the full text of articles in a broad array of scholarly and popular journals. Some also include newspapers and general interest publications.
Academic Search Complete
Articles from over 9,000 journal, magazine, and newspapers in related to current events, the arts & entertainment, literature, history, general science, medicine, law, psychology, religion, education, and cultural studies. Full-text.
Fine Arts and Music Collection
Articles from over 100 journals and magazines related to the history, theory, movements, and styles of drama, music, film making, and art. Full-text.
Full-text articles from scholarly journals in the arts, history, social sciences, multi-cultural studies, economics, education, and general science disciplines. Journal content is unique to this database.
Over 19,000 periodical titles as well as thousands of dissertations, newspapers, working papers, case studies, market and industry reports,and videos.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Use the advance search option to limit your search.
WorldCat - Find Books/Media and Request Material via Interlibrary Loan
What If I Had Been the Hero? by
Publication Date: 2012-08-07
Search for books, journal titles, dissertations, and media in other libraries, and request material via Interlibrary Loan.
Once you have found the item you are looking for:
Click on the ILL icon in the upper left corner or select the "Borrow this item from another library" link to place an ILL request.
Click on the image for additional research assistance.
If you wish to contact a librarian at Long Library:
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
The eBook Collection provides access to more than 118,000 full-text scholarly, reference, and professional eBooks.
The eBook Collection provides access to more than 118,000 full-text scholarly, reference, and professional eBooks. Look for the e-book tab on the library webpage.
Books in Long Library
Search for books in Long Library here.
If the book that you need is not available, please contact library staff at firstname.lastname@example.org.