Skip to Main Content

The American 1890's: Find eBooks

A Course Specific Guide to Library Research for HIST 385: The American 1890's

About the eBook Collection

The EBSCO eBook Collection provides access to more than 130,000 full-text scholarly, reference, and professional eBooks from leading university, academic and professional publishers.

Still need help?

If you still need help, you can visit the EBSCOhost's eBook help pages. You may also contact Tiffany Raymond for additional troubleshooting assistance at library@wells.edu.

Accessing the eBook Collection

Access the EBSCO eBook Collection from the library homepage (www.wells.edu/library). Click on the "eBooks" tab and then click the link "eBook Collection."

From here, you can browse by subject area (ex. History) or do a keyword search "TX All Text Fields" and narrow your results from there by subject, author, publication date, etc.

FAQs about eBooks

How do I view an eBook?

Once you have entered the eBook Collection, eBooks can be read online in the eBook Viewer by clicking the "eBook Full Text" link on the Result List or Detailed Record. The eBook Viewer is a tool that works through your browser and has built-in navigation tools developed specifically for reading eBooks. The toolbar on the right-hand side of the screen allows you to search within the eBook, create notes, bookmark pages, or print from the eBook.

During the time you are actively viewing the eBook (turning pages, searching within the full-text, etc.), it will be unavailable to others.

Do I need special software or hardware to read the eBooks online?

The eBook Collection can be accessed using a standard Internet browser. EBSCO provides eBooks in Adobe PDF format. In order to view eBooks online, you will need the correct version of Adobe Reader installed on your computer.

How long can I read an EBSCO eBook online?

When eBooks are read online, they are "checked-out" for a period of time that typically expires after 30 minutes of inactivity. While reading eBooks online, you can prevent the reading session from expiring by any action that updates the eBook (e.g. turning the page, etc.) eBooks that are read online are considered "checked-out" and may not be available to other users until your online reading session has ended.

How can I checkout/download an eBook?

In order to download eBooks, you must have Adobe Digital Editions 1.7.1 or higher installed on your computer. This is a free download available at http://www.adobe.com/products/digitaleditions/. The Bluefire reader is also available for Apple device users.

  1. Click the Download (Offline) link for the eBook you would like to download.
  2. Sign in to your EBSCOHost account. If you don’t have an account, click on Create a New Account in the upper right.
  3. After you’ve signed in, you’ll be prompted to checkout and download the ebook. Click the Checkout & Download button.
  4. Select Open with or Save File from the resulting dialog box. If you select Open with, your eBook is opened with Adobe Digital Editions. If you select Save file, the eBook is saved to your computer and can be opened with Adobe Digital Editions at a later time.

  5. When the download is complete, Adobe Digital Editions will launch, and you can begin reading your book.

What if the eBook doesn’t download properly? 

Even if the download is unsuccessful, the book is checked out at this point and reserved for your use for the duration of the checkout period. If there is a problem with the download, you can find the book in your "Checkouts" folder and try again.

eBooks

There are thousands of titles available! See the "Select Bibliography" page of this guide for further suggestions.

Using Your eReader

How can I download books to an Apple iPad?

eBooks can be downloaded and read on an Apple iPad using the Bluefire reading app available for free from iTunes. For more information, please see http://support.epnet.com/knowledge_base/detail.php?topic=996&id=5748&page=1

Which portable devices are compatible with eBooks on EBSCOhost?

EBSCOhost eBooks are compatible with for the following eBook Readers:

  • Sony eReader Touch Edition
  • Barnes & Noble Nook
  • All eBook Readers supporting the Adobe eBook DRM. DRM is a standard used by most popular eBook providers, including Google Play. A complete list of Adobe eBook DRM compatible devices and apps is available here.

EBSCOhost eBooks are compatible with the following mobile apps:

  • Bluefire Reader apps for iOS and Android devices
  • Aldiko app for Android devices
  • Txtr app for iPhone and Android devices
  • All apps supporting the Adobe eBook DRM.