Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Sources
Reference sources are good places to begin research on a topic. Articles and entries in these publications often are written by scholars in the field and provide basic facts about a topic, as well as definitions of related terms.
Articles in reference sources can also lead to additional sources on a topic through bibliographies and other lists of recommended readings.
General Reference Sources
Selected Web Resoucres
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A dynamic reference work covering all areas in the field of philosophy, evolving and adapting in response to new research.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Provides open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.
Ethics Updates is designed primarily to be used by ethics instructors and their students. It is intended to provide resources and updates on current literature, both popular and professional, that relates to ethics.
Provides bibliographic essays and links to content on ethics theory, teaching and learning.
One of the best places to start for all time periods of European history. Extensive collection of primary sources and links to other sites. Browse by broad era (prehistory/ancient, medieval/renaissance, modern) or by country.
Locating Articles - Philosophy
Search here for a specific journal title or to see a list of journals (print and electronic) held by the library. You may also browse journals by subject through this link.
These databases include the full text of articles in a broad array of scholarly and popular journals. Some also include newspapers and general interest publications.
Academic Search Complete
Articles from over 9,000 journal, magazine, and newspapers in related to current events, the arts & entertainment, literature, history, general science, medicine, law, psychology, religion, education, and cultural studies. Full-text.
Full-text articles from scholarly journals in the arts, history, social sciences, multi-cultural studies, economics, education, and general science disciplines. Journal content is unique to this database.
Information on current social issues, featuring viewpoint articles, topic overviews, academic journals, magazines, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to websites.
a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers.
Index and abstracts to journals, books and monographs, and conference papers. Coverage: 1895 to present.
APA PsycNET (PsycARTICLES and PsycINFO)
PsycINFO is the primary database for psychology, with selective coverage in the related disciplines of social science.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Use the advance search option to limit your search.
Over 19,000 periodical titles as well as thousands of dissertations, newspapers, working papers, case studies, market and industry reports,and videos.
WorldCat - Find Books/Media and Request Material via Interlibrary Loan
The Power of Critical Thinking by
Publication Date: 2012-08-31
Search for books, journal titles, dissertations, and media in other libraries, and request material via Interlibrary Loan.
Once you have found the item you are looking for:
Click on the ILL icon in the upper left corner or select the "Borrow this item from another library" link to place an ILL request.
Click on the image for additional research assistance.
If you wish to contact a librarian at Long Library:
The eBook Collection provides access to more than 118,000 full-text scholarly, reference, and professional eBooks.
Books in Long Library
Search here for books and media @ Long Library
Call Number: 170 H66
Publication Date: 2007-07-30