Reference sources are good places to begin research on a topic. Articles and entries in these publications often are written by scholars in the field and provide basic facts about a topic, as well as definitions of related terms.
Articles in reference sources can also lead to additional sources on a topic through bibliographies and other lists of recommended readings.
Search here for a specific journal or to see a list of science journals (print and electronic) held by the library. You may also browse journals by subject
These databases include the full text of articles in a broad array of scholarly and popular journals. Some also include newspapers and general interest publications.
Look for lists of journals or topics covered in the database descriptions. Be cautious in reviewing results from general databases: they may be useful in one area but not another. For example, JSTOR has adequate coverage of biological and environmental science but virtually no coverage of chemistry or physics. ProQuest is better at basic physics and biology but only useful for applied chemistry. Academic Search Complete covers core journals in physical, chemical, and biological sciences.
Search for books, journal titles, dissertations, and media in other libraries, and request material via Interlibrary Loan.
Once you have found the item you are looking for:
Click on the ILL icon in the upper left corner or select the "Borrow this item from another library" link to place an ILL request.
Click on the image for additional research assistance.
If you wish to contact a librarian at Long Library:
The eBook Collection provides access to more than 118,000 full-text scholarly, reference, and professional eBooks. Look for the e-book tab on the library webpage.