Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History: Find eBooks

About the eBook Collection

The EBSCO eBook Collection provides access to more than 130,000 full-text scholarly, reference, and professional eBooks from leading university, academic and professional publishers.

Still need help?

If you still need help, you can visit the EBSCOhost's eBook help pages. You may also contact Tiffany Raymond for additional troubleshooting assistance at library@wells.edu.

Accessing the eBook Collection

Access the EBSCO eBook Collection from the library homepage (www.wells.edu/library). Click on the "eBooks" tab and then click the link "eBook Collection."

From here, you can browse by subject area (ex. History) or do a keyword search "TX All Text Fields" and narrow your results from there by subject, author, publication date, etc.

FAQs about eBooks

How do I view an eBook?

Once you have entered the eBook Collection, eBooks can be read online in the eBook Viewer by clicking the "eBook Full Text" link on the Result List or Detailed Record. The eBook Viewer is a tool that works through your browser and has built-in navigation tools developed specifically for reading eBooks. The toolbar on the right-hand side of the screen allows you to search within the eBook, create notes, bookmark pages, or print from the eBook.

During the time you are actively viewing the eBook (turning pages, searching within the full-text, etc.), it will be unavailable to others.

Do I need special software or hardware to read the eBooks online?

The eBook Collection can be accessed using a standard Internet browser. EBSCO provides eBooks in Adobe PDF format. In order to view eBooks online, you will need the correct version of Adobe Reader installed on your computer.

How long can I read an EBSCO eBook online?

When eBooks are read online, they are "checked-out" for a period of time that typically expires after 30 minutes of inactivity. While reading eBooks online, you can prevent the reading session from expiring by any action that updates the eBook (e.g. turning the page, etc.) eBooks that are read online are considered "checked-out" and may not be available to other users until your online reading session has ended.

 

eBooks

There are over 130,00 eBook  titles available... and more added every day!