Skip to Main Content

History: Find Articles

What is a database?

Databases provide electronic access to high-quality, peer-reviewed journal articles; conference proceedings; book chapters; magazine and newspaper articles, dissertations, and other sources.

When carrying out your research, you will need to search more than one database to find more sources relevant to your topic, as each database includes different resources.

Searching by Jounal Title: Journals A-Z List

In addition to databases, articles can also be accessed by title using our A-Z Journal search.

This method of searching is also useful if you have found an article on the web or in a list of references and would like to know if you have access through Long Library.

Here is a step-by-step for navigating the Journal Search:

First, go to the library homepage (wells.edu/library), select the "Journal" tab.

If you know the title or ISSN of the journal you are looking for, you can search for it here.

If we subscribe to the journal, it will appear with a series of links to databases for access, along with the dates available. NOTE: if you see the term "embargo" this means that the most current issues of this title are not available in electronic format. Embargo dates vary. You may need to see if this title is available in print at the library using the library catalog.

Once you select a link to the databases listed, you will be re-directed to another search screen and you can search there for your article.

If you don't have a specific title you are looking for, you can also browse for journals by subject area.

Best Databases for History Research