Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a database?
Databases provide electronic access to high-quality, peer-reviewed journal articles; conference proceedings; book chapters; dissertations and other sources.
Every database provides access to a variety of different titles. When carrying out your research, you will need to search more than one database to find all of the journal articles relevant to your topic.
Best Databases for BCS Research
Academic Search Complete
Access full-text articles from over 9,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers in arts & entertainment, literature, history, general science, medicine, law, psychology, religion, education, and cultural studies.
Full-text. Dates vary. Over 19,000 periodical titles as well as thousands of dissertations, newspapers, working papers, case studies, market and industry reports,and videos.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Citations and some full text of scholarly, governmental, and general interest titles covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Coverage: mid-1970's to present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals in the arts, history, social sciences, multi-cultural studies, economics, education, and general science disciplines. Journal content is unique to this database.
ProQuest Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
The collection contains environmental science related full-text articles, access to figures and tables within articles, environmental impact statements, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM).
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Full text of review articles in biology, chemistry, physics, and earth sciences, as well as some social sciences.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Articles from 13,000 magazines, journals and newspapers in the sciences, the arts, literature, and other subjects.