LibGuides: Criminal Justice: Find Articles/Journals/Books

Request Materials via Interlibrary Loan

Long Library is full of physical books that can provide insight and depth for your research project. Search our catalog using the link below.

If we don't have the book you need on our shelves, you can submit a request for it through Interlibrary Loan. Simply search for the book in our catalog, sign in using your Wells SSO credentials, and click "Resource Sharing." Once you click "submit" under the brief form that autogenerates, we'll process your request and work on getting the book or article to you as quickly as possible.

Please contact library staff at ill@wells.edu if you have any questions.

Wells College Library Catalog This link opens in a new window

Reference Sources

Reference sources are excellent places to start your research. They provide basic information, as well as related topics and recommended sources for further research.

World of Criminal Justice
Source provides information on important topics, theories, discoveries, concepts, organizations, and people in the field of criminal justice.
Dictionary of Probation and Offender Management
Source provides definitions of key terms in the field of criminal justice, as well as challenges, methods, and practices.
Dictionary of Forensic Psychology
Source provides definitions of key terms and concepts dealing with forensic psychology.

Databases

Criminal Justice Collection This link opens in a new window
1980 – Present. Access to over 700 journals and magazines related to topics such as law enforcement, forensics, and crime scene investigation. Full-text
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from over 9,000 journal, magazine, and newspapers in related to current events, the arts & entertainment, literature, history, general science, medicine, law, psychology, religion, education, and cultural studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals in the arts, history, social sciences, multi-cultural studies, economics, education, and general science disciplines. Journal content is unique to this database.

Academic Journals

Criminal Justice and Behavior
Peer-reviewed monthly publication that promotes scholarly evaluations of assessment, classification, prevention, intervention, and treatment programs to help the correctional professional develop successful programs based on sound and informative theoretical and research foundations.
Journal of Criminal Law and Criminology
Student-run publication from Northwestern University School of Law. The journal publishes legal articles, criminological research, book reviews, and symposia.
Journal of Quantitative Criminology
Journal applies quantitative techniques to substantive, methodological, or evaluative concerns relevant to the criminology community. Full text delay 1 year.