What does the Wells College archives hold?
The Wells College Archives contains documents and artifacts relating to the history of Wells College and the surrounding community. This includes the papers of prominent members of the Wells College community, records of the college, a substantial collection of photographs from both the college and the surrounding areas, and many scrapbooks of Wells College alumnae. We also have a large number of books relating to the history of the area.
Who can use the archives?
The archives are available for use by anyone. We especially recommend the use of the archives to faculty, staff, and students who need primary sources. Researchers outside of the Wells College community will be required to present photo ID in order to use the archives.
Why should I use the archives?
The archives are a wonderful place to find primary sources for your research. Our materials cover many topics, such as women's education, prison reform, WWI, animal experimentation, and others. Take a look at our finding aids to see if any of the collections could be helpful for your research topic.
Can I make copies of archival materials?
Yes, provided the copies do not violate the library's copyright policy. The library staff will also prohibit the copying of any materials that are too delicate for handling.
Can I check out archival materials?
No. Archival materials are not circulating and are not allowed to leave the library. Archive materials may only be used in the library, during library hours.
What if I'm not sure what I'm looking for?
The library staff will be happy to assist you in finding what you need. Please email firstname.lastname@example.org with your questions.
How do I access the archives?
The archives are available by appointment during the library's hours of operation. Please email email@example.com or call 315-364-3351 to make an appointment.
Still have questions? Drop us an email at firstname.lastname@example.org or call 315-364-3351. We would be happy to help!
A tablet from the cuneiform collection in the Wells College Archives
Photograph of students at tea time taken from the Wells College Archives