Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sources in the Rare Book Room
Items in the Rare Book Room are available for student in-library use, by appointment. Please contact TRaymond@wells.edu for access.
Journals of the House of Commons
Call Number: 342.42 G78b v.1-51
Primary records of the English House of Commons.
Essays, letters from abroad, translation and fragments, by Percy Bysshe Shelley. Ed. by Mrs. Shelley by
Call Number: 825 S54c E v.1-2
Publication Date: 1840
Memoirs of the court of King James the First by
Call Number: 942B J281ai v.1-2
Publication Date: 1823
The Countesse of Pembroke's Arcadia by
Call Number: 822 qS56c A
Publication Date: 1638
The first collected edition of the dramatic works of William Shakespeare, a reproduction in exact fac-simile of the famous first folio, 1623, by the newly discovered process of photolithography, executed by express permission of Lord Ellesmere and the Tru
Call Number: 822.1 fA115
Publication Date: 1866
Primary Sources Online
The British Museum hosts world art and artifacts. Check out their online collections.
The British Library has many digitized collections, including digitized manuscripts, maps, pictures, and documents.
World Digital Library
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. The WDL makes it possible to discover, study, and enjoy cultural treasures from around the world on one site, in a variety of ways. These cultural treasures include, but are not limited to, manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings.
"The Avalon Project will mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. We do not intend to mount only static text but rather to add value to the text by linking to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text."
Harvard Library Collections Digitization Program
To enhance access to its rich and varied collections, the Harvard College Library (HCL) has digitized thousands of historical photographs, pamphlets, manuscripts, books, music scores, rare maps and other rare and unique materials. The vast majority of these images are freely available online for public access.
Hanover Historical Texts Collection
The Hanover Historical Texts Collection makes available digital versions of historical texts for use in history and humanities courses.
An extensive list, by country, of websites with European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.
The Digital Scriptorium is a growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research. It bridges the gap between a diverse user community and the limited resources of libraries by means of sample imaging and extensive rather than intensive cataloging.
UK National Archives
Collections of documents relating to British History. Categories include: 20th Century Politics, Armed Services, and Migration.
European History Primary Sources
An index of scholarly websites that offer online access to primary sources on the history of Europe.