Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference sources are good places to begin research on a topic. Articles and entries in these publications often are written by scholars in the field and provide basic facts about a topic, as well as definitions of related terms.
Articles in reference sources can also lead to additional sources on a topic through bibliographies and other lists of recommended readings.
Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology
Provides students and general readers with a clear and lively introduction to the terminology of sociology.
World of Sociology
A comprehensive, subject-specific guide to the concepts, theories, discoveries, developments and pioneers related to the field of sociology.
Locating Articles - Sociology
Search here for a specific journal title or to see a list of journals (print and electronic) held by the library. You may also browse journals by subject through this link.
Full-text articles from scholarly journals in the arts, history, social sciences, multi-cultural studies, economics, education, and general science disciplines.
Over 19,000 periodical titles as well as thousands of dissertations, newspapers, working papers, case studies, market and industry reports,and videos.
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
Academic Search Complete
Articles from over 9,000 journal, magazine, and newspapers in related to current events, the arts & entertainment, literature, history, general science, medicine, law, psychology, religion, education, and cultural studies. Full-text.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
Social and Behavioral Science Commons
Open access database that provides access to articles publisher worldwide.
Index to sociology literature.
SIRS Issues Researcher
Full text pro/con coverage of social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political, and global issues, with analysis and opinions.
Information on current social issues, featuring viewpoint articles, topic overviews, academic journals, magazines, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to websites.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Use the advance search option to limit your search.
WorldCat - Find Books/Media and Request Material via Interlibrary Loan
The Politics of Crowds by
Publication Date: 2012-04-12
Search for books, journal titles, dissertations, and media in other libraries, and request material via Interlibrary Loan.
Once you have found the item you are looking for:
Click on the ILL icon in the upper left corner or select the "Borrow this item from another library" link to place an ILL request.
British Journal of Sociology
This prestigious international journal publishes sociological scholarship of the highest quality on all aspects of the discipline, by academics from all over the world.
Sociology of Education
Provides a forum for studies in the sociology of education and human social development.
Families in Society
Disseminates innovative research and critical analysis on the broad array of issues that relate to the capabilities of individuals, families, and communities.
Groundbreaking coverage, providing a forum for leading scholars and specialists to analyze events and trends in every region of a rapidly changing world.
The eBook Collection provides access to more than 118,000 full-text scholarly, reference, and professional eBooks.
Books in Long Library
Search for books in Long Library here.
If the book that you need is not available, please contact library staff at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Click on the image for additional research assistance.
If you wish to contact a librarian at Long Library: