Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Sources
Reference sources are good places to begin research on a topic. Articles and entries in these publications often are written by scholars in the field and provide basic facts about a topic, as well as definitions of related terms.
Articles in reference sources can also lead to additional sources on a topic through bibliographies and other lists of recommended readings.
General Reference Sources
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Search across numerous digital reference works.
Books in Long Library
Search for books in Long Library here.
If the book that you need is not available, please contact library staff at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Locating Articles - Anthropology and Social Science Databases
Anthropology is interdisciplinary in nature. Relevant articles will be found across many areas of inquiry including the social sciences, sciences, arts, and humanities.
Search here for a specific journal title or to see a list of anthropology and sociology journals (print and electronic) held by the library. You may also browse journals by subject through this link.
Anthro Source This link opens in a new window
AnthroSource includes the full text of current and historical content from journals published by the American Anthropological Association. Choose "advanced search" or "browse journals" to begin searching or browsing. Coverage: 1888 to present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from over 9,000 journal, magazine, and newspapers in related to current events, the arts & entertainment, literature, history, general science, medicine, law, psychology, religion, education, and cultural studies.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Over 19,000 periodical titles as well as thousands of dissertations, newspapers, working papers, case studies, market and industry reports,and videos.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals in the arts, history, social sciences, multi-cultural studies, economics, education, and general science disciplines. Journal content is unique to this database.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Information on current social issues, featuring viewpoint articles, topic overviews, academic journals, magazines, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to websites.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is the primary database for psychology, with selective coverage in the related disciplines of sociology and social work.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Use the advance search option to limit your search.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts to journals, books and monographs, and conference papers. Coverage: 1895 to present.
WorldCat - Find Books/Media and Request Material via Interlibrary Loan
Written in Bone by
Publication Date: 2009-02-01
Search for books, journal titles, dissertations, and media in other libraries, and request material via Interlibrary Loan.
Once you have found the item you are looking for:
Click on the ILL icon in the upper left corner or select the "Borrow this item from another library" link to place an ILL request.
Click on the image for additional research assistance.
If you wish to contact a librarian at Long Library:
Articles that add to, integrate, synthesize, and interpret anthropological knowledge; commentaries and essays on issues of importance to the discipline.
Annual Review of Anthropology This link opens in a new window
Covers significant developments in the subfields of Anthropology, including Archaeology, Biological Anthropology, Linguistics and Communicative Practices, Regional Studies and International Anthropology, and Sociocultural Anthropology.
Articles devoted to the human sciences, research reports, reviews of significant books, interviews with leading anthropologists and anthropological news items.
eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The eBook Collection provides access to more than 118,000 full-text scholarly, reference, and professional eBooks.