Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Sources
Reference sources are good places to begin research on a topic. Articles and entries in these publications often are written by scholars in the field and provide basic facts about a topic, as well as definitions of related terms.
Articles in reference sources can also lead to additional sources on a topic through bibliographies and other lists of recommended readings.
Art Museum Image Gallery
Over 165,00 high-quality, worldwide art images and related multimedia from 3,000 BC to the present day.
Print Reference Sources
Gardner's Art Through the Ages by
Call Number: Location: Art Collection: A10 G22 2009
Publication Date: 2008-01-03
Writing about Art by
Call Number: Location: Reference Collection: R 808 S275 2009
Publication Date: 2008-07-10
Museums and Libraries
Most large museums, archives, and libraries have significant digital holdings on the web. You will also find essays, educational curricula, and other resources.
Locating Articles - General and Multi-Disciplinary Databases
These databases include the full text of articles in a broad array of scholarly and popular journals. Some also include newspapers and general interest publications.
Search here for a specific journal title or to see a list of art and art history journals (print and electronic) held by the library. You may also browse journals by subject (choose Fine Arts and Music).
Academic Search Complete
Articles from over 9,000 journal, magazine, and newspapers in related to current events, the arts & entertainment, literature, history, general science, medicine, law, psychology, religion, education, and cultural studies.
Fine Arts and Music Collection
Articles from over 100 journals and magazines related to the history, theory, movements, and styles of drama, music, film making, and art. Full-text.
Full-text articles from scholarly journals in the arts, history, social sciences, multi-cultural studies, economics, education, and general science disciplines. Journal content is unique to this database.
Over 19,000 periodical titles as well as thousands of dissertations, newspapers, working papers, case studies, market and industry reports,and videos.
Omnifile Full Text Select is a multidisciplinary database providing access to articles from over 1,600 publications.
Open Access These and Dissertations
Resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Use the advance search option to limit your search.
WorldCat - Find Books/Media and Request Materials via Interlibrary Loan
Da Vinci's Ghost by
Publication Date: 2012-02-07
Search for books, journal titles, dissertations, and media in other libraries, and request material via Interlibrary Loan.
Once you have found the item you are looking for:
Click on the ILL icon in the upper left corner or select the "Borrow this item from another library" link to place an ILL request.
Click on the image for additional research assistance.
If you wish to contact a librarian at Long Library:
The journal publishes essays, critical reviews, and special issues that engage with path-breaking new developments and critical debate in current art-historical practice.
Art in America
Concentrates on the contemporary art world in the United States, including profiles of artists and genres, updates about art movements, show reviews and event schedules.
A peer-reviewed, professionally moderated scholarly journal, its concentrations include: art practice, art production, art making, art history, visual studies, art theory, and art criticism.
The eBook Collection provides access to more than 118,000 full-text scholarly, reference, and professional eBooks.
Books in Long Library
The Artist's Body by
Call Number: 700 A778w
Publication Date: 2006-09-07
Search here for books and media @ Long Library