Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Sources
Reference sources are good places to begin research on a topic. Articles and entries in these publications often are written by scholars in the field and provide basic facts about a topic, as well as definitions of related terms.
Articles in reference sources can also lead to additional sources on a topic through bibliographies and other lists of recommended readings.
Hoover's Company Profiles
This database contains proprietary information about more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives.
It reports on public relations firms and consultants and their relationships to public policy and corporate citizenship.
Online reference sources including Dictionary of Finance and Investment Terms, Wall Street Words, and the Dictionary of Business and Management.
The eBook Collection provides access to more than 118,000 full-text scholarly, reference, and professional eBooks.
Books in Long Library
Search for books in Long Library here.
If the book that you need is not available, please contact library staff at email@example.com.
Locating Articles - General and Multi-Disciplinary Databases
These databases include the full text of articles in a broad array of scholarly and popular journals. If your topic is multidisiplinary these may be the best place to start.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from over 9,000 journal, magazine, and newspapers in related to current events, the arts & entertainment, literature, history, general science, medicine, law, psychology, religion, education, and cultural studies.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Over 19,000 periodical titles as well as thousands of dissertations, newspapers, working papers, case studies, market and industry reports,and videos.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals in the arts, history, social sciences, multi-cultural studies, economics, education, and general science disciplines. Journal content is unique to this database.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Information on current social issues, featuring viewpoint articles, topic overviews, academic journals, magazines, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to websites.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Articles from 13,000 magazines, journals and newspapers in the sciences, the arts, literature, and other subjects.
General Onefile This link opens in a new window
1980 - Present. Articles from magazines, journals in business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Many full-text
Locating Articles - Business and Economics
Search here for a specific journal title or to see a list of business and economics journals (print and electronic) held by the library. You may also browse journals by subject
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text articles on business and management, as well as industry reports and global and trade news.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text of academic and professional business publications.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Index to journals, books, and working papers on economics.
EconPapers This link opens in a new window
EconPapers indexes working papers from institutes and organizations around the world and links to downloadable versions of unpublished papers, statistical software, and electronic books.
Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
Articles from business and trade journals, newspapers, company directory profiles, information on companies, markets and industries, patents.
Small Business Collection This link opens in a new window
1980 – Present. Articles from magazines and trade journals on topics such as entrepreneurship, starting and opening a small business, accounting, finance, human resources, marketing, and taxes. Full-text.
Open Access These and Dissertations
Resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Use the advance search option to limit your search.
WorldCat - Find Books/Media and Request Material via Interlibrary Loan
Downwardly Mobile by
Publication Date: 2012-04-19
Search for books, journal titles, dissertations, and media in other libraries, and request material via Interlibrary Loan.
Once you have found the item you are looking for:
Click on the ILL icon in the upper left corner or select the "Borrow this item from another library" link to place an ILL request.
Click on the image for additional research assistance.
If you wish to contact a librarian at Long Library: