Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Koch Student Library Prize: Koch Student Library Prize

About the Koch Student Library Prize

The Student Library Prize was awarded in 1937 by the Chicago Wells Club, and endowed in 1943 by Ruth Chamberlain Koch ’07. The prize is awarded to seniors who have the best, not the largest, collection of books. Prizes are awarded for General Collection (1st and 2nd place) and Special Interest Collection (1st and 2nd place). Each collection will be judged on its value as a practical working library in relation to the major interest of the owner; as a nucleus for a permanent personal library; as indication of discriminating judgment in collecting books, and of growing interest in books through the College years. Rare editions and fine bindings are of secondary importance in this contest.

How to Apply

To submit your book collection for the prize, please provide either an annotated bibliography of the ten books you consider the “highlights” of your collection or a short essay discussing your collection. Please be sure to provide your full name, class year, email address, and a phone number. You must also indicate if you are submitting your library for the General Collection or Special Interest Collection prize.

Submissions can be placed in person to Tiffany Raymond in the library, or sent via email to Submissions for the 2021-2022 academic year are due by 4/15/2022.

If you have any questions, please email or call 315-364-3352.

Winners will be announced during the Honors Award Ceremony.

Our Reference Librarian

Profile Photo
Rebecca Johnston
Louis Jefferson Long Library, Room 200A
Wells College
Aurora, NY