Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Sources
Reference sources are good places to begin research on a topic. Articles and entries in these publications often are written by scholars in the field and provide basic facts about a topic, as well as definitions of related terms.
Articles in reference sources can also lead to additional sources on a topic through bibliographies and other lists of recommended readings.
Click on the image for additional research assistance.
If you wish to contact a librarian at Long Library:
Locating Articles - Dance and the Performing Arts
Search here for a specific journal title or to see a list of performing arts journals (print and electronic) held by the library. You may also browse journals by subject through this link.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from over 9,000 journal, magazine, and newspapers in related to current events, the arts & entertainment, literature, history, general science, medicine, law, psychology, religion, education, and cultural studies. Full-text.
Fine Arts and Music Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles from over 100 journals and magazines related to the history, theory, movements, and styles of drama, music, film making, and art. Full-text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals in the arts, history, social sciences, multi-cultural studies, economics, education, and general science disciplines. Journal content is unique to this database.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Full text of major newspapers and transcripts of radio and television broadcasts from major media outlets. Searches may be limited by document type to reviews or interviews. Coverage: varies by newspaper; check publications list (click on Publications link in upper left of display).
Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Use the advance search option to limit your search.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Over 19,000 periodical titles as well as thousands of dissertations, newspapers, working papers, case studies, market and industry reports,and videos.
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Classic and contemporary theatrical performances. Resources include backstage insights, practitioner interviews, written analysis and 400+ captured productions.
Selected Web Resources
Association for Theatre in Higher Education
United States based non-profit membership organization whose mission is "To support and advance the study and practice of theatre and performance in higher education"
A compilation of dance articles, dance tips, dance news, dance forums, dance listings and educational information for the aspiring and professional dancer.
The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, and the general public.
Americans for the Arts
Americans for the Arts is dedicated to representing and serving local communities and creating opportunities for every American to participate in and appreciate all forms of the arts.
Artslynx International Arts Resources
Index to links in the performing arts, as well as arts management, and the arts in personal and community enrichment.
Theatre History on the Web
Links of interests organized by period and topic.
WorldCat - Find Books/Media and Request Material via Interlibrary Loan
The Artful Species by
Publication Date: 2013-01-06
Search for books, journal titles, dissertations, and media in other libraries, and request material via Interlibrary Loan.
Once you have found the item you are looking for:
Click on the ILL icon in the upper left corner or select the "Borrow this item from another library" link to place an ILL request.
The eBook Collection provides access to more than 118,000 full-text scholarly, reference, and professional eBooks.
Books in Long Library
Search for books in Long Library here.
If the book that you need is not available, please contact library staff at email@example.com.