Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference sources are good places to begin research on a topic. Articles and entries in these publications often are written by scholars in the field and provide basic facts about a topic, as well as definitions of related terms.
Articles in reference sources can also lead to additional sources on a topic through bibliographies and other lists of recommended readings.
Selected Web Resoucres
Center for Political Studies
Recognized around the world as a leading center for the quantitative study of politics.
Emory University - Data Resources for Political Science
A compilation of commonly-used data resources for Political Scientists
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
Center for American Women and Politics
Nationally recognized as the leading source of scholarly research and current data about American women’s political participation.
Biographies, voting records, issue positions, ratings, speeches, campaign finance information.
Click on the image for additional research assistance.
If you wish to contact a librarian at Long Library:
Locating Articles - Political Science
Search here for a specific journal title or to see a list of journals (print and electronic) held by the library. You may also browse journals by subject through this link.
Academic Search Complete
Articles from over 9,000 journal, magazine, and newspapers in related to current events, the arts & entertainment, literature, history, general science, medicine, law, psychology, religion, education, and cultural studies. Full-text.
Full-text articles from scholarly journals in the arts, history, social sciences, multi-cultural studies, economics, education, and general science disciplines. Journal content is unique to this database.
Articles from 13,000 magazines, journals and newspapers in the sciences, the arts, literature, and other subjects.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations
A quality resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world.
Full text of journals in law and political science and of material relating to the presidency and the Supreme Court.
Non-partisan research on issues facing legislative action.
American Journal of Political Science
Publishes research in all major areas of political science including American politics, public policy, international relations, comparative politics, political methodology, and political theory.
Journal of Politics
A leading general journal of political science which publishes path-breaking research by scholars around the world
Legislative Studies Quarterly
An international journal devoted to the publication of research on representative assemblies. Its purpose is to disseminate scholarly work on parliaments and legislatures, their relations to other political institutions, their functions in the political system, and the activities of their members both within the institution and outside.
Groundbreaking coverage, providing a forum for leading scholars and specialists to analyze events and trends in every region of a rapidly changing world.
International Security publishes lucid, well-documented Contains essays on the full range of contemporary security issues. Its articles address traditional topics such as war and peace, as well as more recent dimensions of security, including the growing importance of environmental, demographic, and humanitarian issues, and the rise of global terrorist networks.
Comparative Political Studies
Offers scholarly work on comparative politics at both the cross-national and intra-national levels.
WorldCat - Find Books/Media and Request Material via Interlibrary Loan
Taking Liberties by
Publication Date: 2011-10-03
Search for books, journal titles, dissertations, and media in other libraries, and request material via Interlibrary Loan.
Once you have found the item you are looking for:
Click on the ILL icon in the upper left corner or select the "Borrow this item from another library" link to place an ILL request.
This guide will direct you to a multitude of resources available through the U.S. government.
The eBook Collection provides access to more than 118,000 full-text scholarly, reference, and professional eBooks.
Books in Long Library
Search here for books and media @ Long Library
Rule and Ruin by
Call Number: 324.2 K11
Publication Date: 2012-01-04
The Foundations of American Citizenship by
Call Number: 320.5 S618f
Publication Date: 1992-04-02