Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Locating Articles - General and Multi-Disciplinary Databases
These databases include the full text of articles in a broad array of scholarly and popular journals. Some also include newspapers and general interest publications.
Academic Search Complete
Articles from over 9,000 journal, magazine, and newspapers in related to current events, the arts & entertainment, literature, history, general science, medicine, law, psychology, religion, education, and cultural studies.
Articles from 13,000 magazines, journals and newspapers in the sciences, the arts, literature, and other subjects.
Full-text articles from scholarly journals in the arts, history, social sciences, multi-cultural studies, economics, education, and general science disciplines. Journal content is unique to this database.
1980 - Present. Articles from magazines, journals in business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Many full-text
Over 19,000 periodical titles as well as thousands of dissertations, newspapers, working papers, case studies, market and industry reports,and videos.
Online Reference Sources
Reference sources are good places to begin research on a topic. Articles and entries in these publications often are written by scholars in the field and provide basic facts about a topic, as well as definitions of related terms.
Articles in reference sources can also lead to additional sources on a topic through bibliographies and other lists of recommended readings.
Digest of Education Statistics
provides a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school.
The Condition of Education
Key indicators of the condition of education in the United States. These indicators summarize important developments and trends using the latest statistics and are updated every year or every other year.
Provides access to an extensive list of education reference material.
Click on the image for additional research assistance.
If you wish to contact a librarian at Long Library:
Locating Articles - Education Databases
Search here for a specific journal title or to see a list of education journals (print and electronic) held by the library. You may also browse journals by subject through this link.
Contains more than 1,243,000 records and links to more than 224,000 full-text documents, journal articles, and reports from the U.S. Department of Education database. ERIC can be searched with keywords or by using a controlled vocabulary. Coverage: 1966 to present.
To formulate a search using controlled vocabulary, use the Thesaurus of Eric Descriptors (online or the print version located at the reference desk) to search for appropriate ERIC terms. The thesaurus presents related terms in hierarchical or alphabetical displays.
Professional Development Collection
Full text of over 500 education journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles, and selected reports from governmental and non-governmental sources. Coverage: 1965 to present.
PsycINFO is the primary database for psychology, with selective coverage in the related disciplines of sociology and social work.
Index and abstracts to journals, books and monographs, and conference papers. Coverage: 1895 to present.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Use the advance search option to limit your search.
Selected Web Resoucres
Educator's Reference Desk
A directory of resource guides and lessons plans, searchable by grade level, as well as a collection of questions and answers about a variety of education topics.
New York State Education Department
Information on State accreditation, assessments, grants, curriculum, and education statistics.
Library of Congress
The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching.
PBS Classroom Resources
Multi-media resources in current events, arts, science, humanities, and social sciences.
Educational programs and resources from the Smithsonian Institution.
Institute of Education Sciences
IES is the research arm of the Department of Education, conducting education research, evaluation and assessment.
Education for the 21st Century-Putting quality education at the heart of development.The organization is committed to a holistic and humanistic vision of quality education worldwide, the realization of everyone’s right to education, and the belief that education plays a fundamental role in human, social and economic development.
Educational Resources and Lessons Plans
Links to general resources & lesson plans. It also links to resources in the content areas and for alternative learners.
Calling itself "The Ultimate Teachers Resource," this site offers many different types of information such as chat rooms, job listings, lesson plans, web instructions, multiple forums for topics of interest to teachers, and advertising.
Books in Long Library
Search for books in Long Library here.
If the book that you need is not available, please contact library staff at firstname.lastname@example.org.
The eBook Collection provides access to more than 130,000 full-text scholarly, reference, and professional eBooks. Look for the e-book tab on the library webpage.
WorldCat - Find Books/Media and Request Material via Interlibrary Loan
Creating Room to Read by
Publication Date: 2013-02-07
Search for books, journal titles, dissertations, and media in other libraries, and request material via Interlibrary Loan.
Once you have found the item you are looking for:
Click on the ILL icon in the upper left corner or select the "Borrow this item from another library" link to place an ILL request.