Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Sources
Reference sources are good places to begin research on a topic. Articles and entries in these publications often are written by scholars in the field and provide basic facts about a topic, as well as definitions of related terms.
Articles in reference sources can also lead to additional sources on a topic through bibliographies and other lists of recommended readings.
Encyclopedia of Life
The EOL is a project to synthesize biodiversity knowledge about all known species including their taxonomy, geographic distribution, collections, genetics, evolutionary history, morphology, behavior, ecological relationships, and importance for human well being.
Includes: Academic Press Dictionary of Science and Technology, Dictionary of Developmental Biology and Embryology, Guide to the Oceans, The Macquarie Dictionary of Trees & Shrubs, and McGraw Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.
Selected Print Reference
A Dictionary of Genetics by
Call Number: R 575.103 qK54
Please check the Library Catalog or browse the reference collection for further reference material.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Evolution by
Call Number: R 573.2 qE56
Encyclopedia of Ethics in Science and Technology by
Call Number: R 503 qB23
Locating Articles - Core Science Databases
Search here for a specific journal or to see a list of science journals (print and electronic) held by the library. You may also browse journals by subject
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Full text of review articles in biology, chemistry, physics, and earth sciences, as well as some social sciences (anthropology, sociology). AR gathers and summarizes, or reviews, current research. You may search across all disciplines or limit your search to a single area of inquiry. Coverage: varies, generally full text is available for the last ten years with some additional backfiles.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Links to full text where available. Coverage: 1950s to present.
PUBMED This link opens in a new window
Index to medical literature from the National Library of Medicine with links to full text where available.
ProQuest Health Management This link opens in a new window
Full text on healthcare administration, public health and safety, finance, personnel management, population studies, and labor law.
Health Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly journals in nursing and allied health literature plus topical review articles and multimedia. Coverage: 1980 to present.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Use the advance search option to limit your search.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation indexes for scholarly research articles found in journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences and art & humanities.
Locating Articles - General and Multi-Disciplinary Databases
These databases include the full text of articles in a broad array of scholarly journals and include some coverage of peer-reviewed journals in the sciences, along with more popular titles. Look for lists of journals or topics covered in the database descriptions. Be cautious in reviewing results from general databases: they may be useful in one area but not another. For example, JSTOR has adequate coverage of biological and environmental science but virtually no coverage of chemistry or physics. ProQuest is better at basic physics and biology but only useful for applied chemistry. Academic Search Complete covers core journals in physical, chemical, and biological sciences.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from over 9,000 journal, magazine, and newspapers in related to current events, the arts & entertainment, literature, history, general science, medicine, law, psychology, religion, education, and cultural studies.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Information on current social issues, featuring viewpoint articles, topic overviews, academic journals, magazines, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to websites.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Articles from 13,000 magazines, journals and newspapers in the sciences, the arts, literature, and other subjects.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Over 19,000 periodical titles as well as thousands of dissertations, newspapers, working papers, case studies, market and industry reports,and videos.
Selected Web Resources
Office of Scientific and Technical Information
OSTI (a U.S. Department of Energy program) makes available R&D findings in the physical sciences from government research.
Science.gov searches over 55 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 13 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
The Library of Congress SCIENCE TRACER BULLET SERIES contains research guides that help you locate information on science and technology subjects. With brief introductions to the topics, lists of resources and strategies for finding more, they help you to stay "on target."
WorldCat - Find Books/Media and Request Materials via Interlibrary Loan
American Genesis by
Publication Date: 2012-03-05
Search for books, journal titles, dissertations, and media in other libraries, and request material via Interlibrary Loan.
Once you have found the item you are looking for:
Click on the ILL icon in the upper left corner or select the "Borrow this item from another library" link to place an ILL request.
Click on the image for additional research assistance.
If you wish to contact a librarian at Long Library:
review-and-discussion journal publishing novel insights, forward-looking reviews and commentaries in contemporary biology with a molecular, genetic, cellular, or physiological dimension.
Provides a forum for well-argued articles on the ethical questions raised by current issues such as: international collaborative clinical research in developing countries; public health; infectious disease; AIDS; managed care; genomics and stem cell research.
The journal publishes groundbreaking papers and is instrumental in defining the key issues contributing to the science and practice of conserving Earth’s biological diversity.
the premier publication devoted to the study of organic evolution and the integration of the various fields of science concerned with evolution.
New England Journal of Medicine
peer-reviewed medical journal published by the Massachusetts Medical Society and it is among the most prestigious in the world.
Quarterly Review of Biology
publishes articles in all areas of biology but with a traditional emphasis on evolution, ecology, and organismal biology.
The eBook Collection provides access to more than 118,000 full-text scholarly, reference, and professional eBooks.
Books in Long Library
Search for books in Long Library here.
If the book that you need is not available, please contact library staff at email@example.com.