Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Reference Sources
Reference sources are good places to begin research on a topic. Articles and entries in these publications often are written by scholars in the field and provide basic facts about a topic, as well as definitions of related terms.
Articles in reference sources can also lead to additional sources on a topic through bibliographies and other lists of recommended readings.
Visit the reference collection to find further titles on these and other related topics.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society by
Call Number: R 301.41 E56o
Publication Date: 2008-11-26
Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories by
Call Number: Long Library - Reference Collection:R 301.41 E56c
Publication Date: 2000-09-19
American Masculinities by
Call Number: Long Library- 3rd Floor Stacks: 301.411 qA51
Publication Date: 2003-10-14
Selected Online Journals
An interdisciplinary behavioral science journal offering a feminist perspective. It publishes original research reports and review articles that illuminate the underlying processes and consequences of gender role socialization, gendered perceptions and behaviors, and gender stereotypes.
Psychology of Women Quarterly
A feminist, scientific, peer-reviewed journal that publishes empirical research, critical reviews and theoretical articles Athat advance a field of inquiry.
Locating Articles - Gender Studies
Search here for a specific journal title or to see a list of journals (print and electronic) held by the library. You may also browse journals by subject through this link.
These databases include the full text of articles in a broad array of scholarly and popular journals. Some also include newspapers and general interest publications.
Gender Studies Collection
Articles from over 30 journals and magazines related to gender studies, relationship issues, family and marital issues, gay and lesbian rights, and health-related topics. Full-text. 1980 – Present.
Academic Search Complete
Articles from over 9,000 journal, magazine, and newspapers in related to current events, the arts & entertainment, literature, history, general science, medicine, law, psychology, religion, education, and cultural studies. Full-text.
Social and Behavioral Science Commons
Open access database that provides access to articles published worldwide.
APA PsycNET (PsycARTICLES and PsycINFO)
PsycINFO is the primary database for psychology, with selective coverage in related disciplines.
Index and abstracts to journals, books and monographs, and conference papers. Coverage: 1895 to present.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Use the advance search option to limit your search.
Over 19,000 periodical titles as well as thousands of dissertations, newspapers, working papers, case studies, market and industry reports,and videos.
Full-text articles from scholarly journals in the arts, history, social sciences, multi-cultural studies, economics, education, and general science disciplines. Journal content is unique to this database.
Selected Web Resoucres
Voice of the Shuttle
Includes web sites from general resources, women's studies and feminist theory; gay, lesbian and queer studies; men's movement and men's studies; sexual harassment and abuse; and cybergender and techgender.
Central gateway to information and resources on the promotion of gender equality and the empowerment of women throughout the United Nations system.
A compilation of data on key gender topics from national statistics agencies, United Nations databases, and World Bank-conducted or funded surveys.
Global Gender Gap Report
Benchmarks national gender gaps on economic, political, education- and health-based criteria and provides country rankings that allow for comparisons across regions and income groups and over time. Issued by the World Economic Forum.
WorldCat - Find Books/Media and Request Material via Interlibrary Loan
The Richer Sex by
Publication Date: 2012-03-20
Search for books, journal titles, dissertations, and media in other libraries, and request material via Interlibrary Loan.
Once you have found the item you are looking for:
Click on the ILL icon in the upper left corner or select the "Borrow this item from another library" link to place an ILL request.
Click on the image for additional research assistance.
If you wish to contact a librarian at Long Library:
The eBook Collection provides access to more than 118,000 full-text scholarly, reference, and professional eBooks.
Books in Long Library
The Media and the Models of Masculinity by
Call Number: 301.243 M91
Publication Date: 2011-03-15
Search here for books and media @ Long Library
Dude, You're a Fag by
Call Number: 301.411 P28
Publication Date: 2011-11-01
The Gendered Society by
Call Number: 301.41 K49g 2008
Publication Date: 2007-09-10