Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Sources
Reference sources are good places to begin research on a topic. Articles and entries in these publications often are written by scholars in the field and provide basic facts about a topic, as well as definitions of related terms.
Articles in reference sources can also lead to additional sources on a topic through bibliographies and other lists of recommended readings.
The Penguin Dictionary of Physics
Provides clear and concise definitions for every area of physics--from optics and acoustics to mechanics and electronics, via quantum theory and relativity.
Academic Press Dictionary of Science and Technology
Contains complete, up-to-date definitions for all areas of science and technology. The definitions are clear and accessible to the nonspecialist, yet they provide all the technical information that the specialist needs.
General Reference Sources
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Open access to 925,479 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
AIP's Center for History of Physics
Founded in 1962, The History Programs mission is to preserve and make known the history of modern physics.
Physics highlights a selection of papers from the Physical Review journals. In consultation with expert scientists, the editors choose these papers for their importance and/or intrinsic interest.
Searchable database of physics resources from the Institute of Physics.
Bibliographic database on high-energy physics from the Stanford Linear Accelerator (SLAC).
Locating Articles - Physics
Search here for a specific journal or to see a list of science journals (print and electronic) held by the library. You may also browse journals by subject
Full text of review articles in biology, chemistry, physics, and earth sciences, as well as some social sciences.
Web of Science
Citation indexes for scholarly research articles found in journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences and art & humanities.
Locating Articles - General and Multi-Disciplinary Databases
These databases include the full text of articles in a broad array of scholarly and popular journals. Some also include newspapers and general interest publications.
Look for lists of journals or topics covered in the database descriptions. Be cautious in reviewing results from general databases: they may be useful in one area but not another. For example, JSTOR has adequate coverage of biological and environmental science but virtually no coverage of chemistry or physics. ProQuest is better at basic physics and biology but only useful for applied chemistry. Academic Search Complete covers core journals in physical, chemical, and biological sciences.
Academic Search Complete
Articles from over 9,000 journal, magazine, and newspapers in related to current events, the arts & entertainment, literature, history, general science, medicine, law, psychology, religion, education, and cultural studies.
Articles from 13,000 magazines, journals and newspapers in the sciences, the arts, literature, and other subjects.
1980 - Present. Articles from magazines, journals in business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Many full-text
Over 19,000 periodical titles as well as thousands of dissertations, newspapers, working papers, case studies, market and industry reports,and videos.
WorldCat - Find Books/Media and Request Material via Interlibrary Loan
Knocking on Heaven's Door by
Publication Date: 2012-10-02
Search for books, journal titles, dissertations, and media in other libraries, and request material via Interlibrary Loan.
Once you have found the item you are looking for:
Click on the ILL icon in the upper left corner or select the "Borrow this item from another library" link to place an ILL request.
Click on the image for additional research assistance.
If you wish to contact a librarian at Long Library:
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
The eBook Collection provides access to more than 118,000 full-text scholarly, reference, and professional eBooks.
The eBook Collection provides access to more than 118,000 full-text scholarly, reference, and professional eBooks. Look for the e-book tab on the library webpage.
Books in Long Library
Search for books in Long Library here.
If the book that you need is not available, please contact library staff at firstname.lastname@example.org.