Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Sources
Reference sources are good places to begin research on a topic. Articles and entries in these publications often are written by scholars in the field and provide basic facts about a topic, as well as definitions of related terms.
Articles in reference sources can also lead to additional sources on a topic through bibliographies and other lists of recommended readings.
Information provided by the NCBI on the biological activities of small molecules. Search for compounds, substances, and structures.
A resource from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) that provides access to structure and nomenclature information for the identification of chemical substances cited in NLM databases. The database contains over 380,000 chemical records.
A free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 29 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
Full data on chemical elements and a searchable dictionary of chemical terms.
National Institute of Standards and Technology
The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) develops the technology, measurement methods, and standards to address the needs of the chemical industry.
General Reference Sources
Provides access to an extensive list of science reference material.
Selected Print Reference
Encyclopedia of Ethics in Science and Technology by
Call Number: R 503 qB23
Publication Date: 2002-03-01
Solid State Chemistry by
Call Number: 547 M16 (2007)
Publication Date: 2005-06-24
Locating Articles - Chemistry
Search here for a specific journal or to see a list of science journals (print and electronic) held by the library. You may also browse journals by subject
Full text of review articles in biology, chemistry, physics, and earth sciences, as well as some social sciences.
Web of Science
Citation indexes for scholarly research articles found in journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences and art & humanities.
Locating Articles - General and Multi-Disciplinary Databases
These databases include the full text of articles in a broad array of scholarly journals and include some coverage of peer-reviewed journals in the sciences, along with more popular titles. Look for lists of journals or topics covered in the database descriptions. Be cautious in reviewing results from general databases: they may be useful in one area but not another. For example, JSTOR has adequate coverage of biological and environmental science but virtually no coverage of chemistry or physics. ProQuest is better at basic physics and biology but only useful for applied chemistry. Academic Search Complete covers core journals in physical, chemical, and biological sciences.
Academic Search Complete
Articles from over 9,000 journal, magazine, and newspapers in related to current events, the arts & entertainment, literature, history, general science, medicine, law, psychology, religion, education, and cultural studies.
Articles from 13,000 magazines, journals and newspapers in the sciences, the arts, literature, and other subjects.
1980 - Present. Articles from magazines, journals in business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Many full-text
Over 19,000 periodical titles as well as thousands of dissertations, newspapers, working papers, case studies, market and industry reports,and videos.
WorldCat - Find Books/Media and Request Material via Interlibrary Loan
What Is Life? by
Publication Date: 2012-11-01
Search for books, journal titles, dissertations, and media in other libraries, and request material via Interlibrary Loan.
Once you have found the item you are looking for:
Click on the ILL icon in the upper left corner or select the "Borrow this item from another library" link to place an ILL request.
Click on the image for additional research assistance.
If you wish to contact a librarian at Long Library:
ACS(American Chemical Society)Publications
The publications of the American Chemical Society are a rich source of peer-reviewed scholarship in chemistry and related sciences. Browse individual journals by issue or search the entire collection for full-text articles dating from the late 19th century to the present.
The eBook Collection provides access to more than 118,000 full-text scholarly, reference, and professional eBooks. Look for the e-book tab on the library webpage.
Books in Long Library
Organic Chemistry - Breakthroughs and Perspectives by
Call Number: 547 O68d
Publication Date: 2012-09-24
Search here for books and media @ Long Library