Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Sources
Reference sources are good places to begin research on a topic. Articles and entries in these publications often are written by scholars in the field and provide basic facts about a topic, as well as definitions of related terms.
Articles in reference sources can also lead to additional sources on a topic through bibliographies and other lists of recommended readings.
A Handbook of Globalisation and Environmental Policy by
Publication Date: 2012-02-01
This comprehensive, revised Handbook pushes the frontiers of theoretical and empirical knowledge, and provides a state-of-the-art examination of the multifaceted effects of globalisation on environmental governance.
General Reference Sources
Provides access to an extensive list of literary reference material.
The eBook Collection provides access to more than 118,000 full-text scholarly, reference, and professional eBooks.
Locating Articles -Environmental Studies
Search here for a specific journal title or to see a list of environmental studies journals (print and electronic) held by the library. You may also browse journals by subject through this link.
ProQuest Environmental Science Collection
The collection contains environmental science related full-text articles, access to figures and tables within articles, environmental impact statements, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM).
Academic Search Complete
Articles from over 9,000 journal, magazine, and newspapers in related to current events, the arts & entertainment, literature, history, general science, medicine, law, psychology, religion, education, and cultural studies. Full-text.
Information on current social issues, featuring viewpoint articles, topic overviews, academic journals, magazines, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to websites.
Citations and some full text of scholarly, governmental, and general interest titles covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Coverage: mid-1970's to present.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Use the advance search option to limit your search.
Over 19,000 periodical titles as well as thousands of dissertations, newspapers, working papers, case studies, market and industry reports,and videos.
Web of Science
Citation indexes for scholarly research articles found in journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences and art & humanities.
Selected Web Resources
Environmental Protection Agency
Data from seven different EPA environmental databases are available. The mission of EPA is to protect human health and the environment.
Global Council for Science and the Environment
GCSE prepares reports that undergo review for accuracy and objectivity and contain nontechnical information that can be very useful to people interested in environmental policy.
U.S. Dept. of Energy
Government web site offering industry reports, action plans, research findings, and information about alternative energy sources, efficiency, and the environment.
UN Research Guide-The Environment
The UN Commission on Sustainable Development is a key forum for UN Member States to discuss questions related to the environment.
Encyclopedia of Earth
The Encyclopedia is described as a free, fully searchable collection of articles written by scholars, professionals, educators, and other approved experts, who collaborate and review each other's work.
World Resource Institute
Global research organization that works closely with leaders to turn big ideas into action to sustain a healthy environment.
WorldCat - Find Books/Media and Request Materials via Interlibrary Loan
Green Cities of Europe by
Publication Date: 2012-05-15
Search for books, journal titles, dissertations, and media in other libraries, and request material via Interlibrary Loan.
Once you have found the item you are looking for:
Click on the ILL icon in the upper left corner or select the "Borrow this item from another library" link to place an ILL request.
Click on the image for additional research assistance.
If you wish to contact a librarian at Long Library:
Selected Online Journals
Conservation Biology is the most influential and frequently cited journal in its field. The journal publishes groundbreaking papers and is instrumental in defining the key issues contributing to the science and practice of conserving Earth’s biological diversity.
Advances in Environmental Science
The journal covers all the fields of environmental sciences, connected to life sciences, geology, physics, chemistry, economics, policies or legislation (both theoretical and applied issues).
Biodiversity & Conservation
The journal presents research papers, as well as editorials, comments and research notes on biodiversity and conservation, and contributions dealing with the practicalities of conservation management, economic, social and political issues.
Books in Long Library
Search for books in Long Library here.
If the book that you need is not available, please contact library staff at email@example.com.