Skip to main content

Wells College Archives and Rare Book Collection: Home

About the Wells College Archives

The Wells College Archives, located in the Louis Jefferson Long Library, contain materials related to the history of Wells College and the surrounding communities. This guide contains information about major collections and policies. For more information or information about the library, please visit our website at www.wells.edu/library or call 315-364-3351.

Who can use the archives?

The archives are available for use by anyone with an interest in the materials. This includes students, staff, faculty, alumni, and those outside of the Wells College community. We encourage anyone with an interest in using the archival materials to contact the library for information.

Donating to the Archives

The Archives collects materials relating to the history of Wells College. If you have materials that you believe the Archives would be interested in and would like to donate them, please contact the library to set up arrangements. Donors are asked to complete an Accession Form at the time of donation, which can be obtained under the "Policies and Forms" tabs.

The Archives requests that all donations be made without restrictions. Please contact the library with any questions.

Wells College History

Wells College was founded in 1868 by Henry Wells near his home in Aurora, NY. Wells Seminary, as it was originally called, was founded as a women's college. The college remained a women's college until 2004, when the college went co-ed.

For more information on the history of Wells College, please visit our online encyclopedia, Wellsipedia. You may also visit the college's website.

Accessing the Archives

Hours of Operation:

Monday through Friday, 9:00am-4:00pm

If possible, please call or email to make an appointment to ensure that materials are available prior to your arrival.

Librarian

Wells College Librarians's picture
Wells College Librarians
Contact:
Louis Jefferson Long Library
Wells College
Aurora, NY
315-364-3351
Website